Home Page
Today is
 Related Activities
Density of a Liquid
What is Energy?
Density Challenge
Units and Measurements

Student and Teacher Travel

-Study Abroad

-Student Travel

-Spring Break

-International Schools

-Travel Guides

-Budget Travel

Classification of Living Things -6 Kingdom Classification
Kingdom is the highest rank used in the biological taxonomy of all organisms. There are 6 kingdoms in taxonomy. Every living thing comes under one of these 6 kingdoms. The six kingdoms are Eubacteria, Archae, Protista, Fungi, Plantae, and Animalia.


Until the 20th century, most biologists considered all living things to be classifiable as either a plant or an animal. But in the 1950s and 1960s, most biologists came to the realization that this system failed to accommodate the fungi, protists, and bacteria.

By the 1970s, a system of Five Kingdoms had come to be accepted as the model by which all living things could be classified.

At a more fundamental level, a distinction was made between the prokaryotic bacteria and the four eukaryotic kingdoms (plants, animals, fungi, & protists).

The distinction recognizes the common traits that eukaryotic organisms share, such as nuclei, cytoskeletons, and internal membranes.

Although many books and articles still refer to them as "Archaebacteria", that term has been abandoned because they aren't bacteria -- they're Archaea.

MONERA EUBACTERIA Prokaryotic, unicellular organisms unicellular and colonial--including the true bacteria (eubacteria) asexual reproduction -- binary fission
ARCHAEA no cell nucleus nor any other membrane-bound organelles within their cells, most but not all have a cell wall e.g., thermoplasma, ferroplasma halobacteria, ARMAN (Archaeal Richmond Mine Acidophilic Nanoorganisms), thermoplasma, ferroplasma Archaea reproduce asexually by binary or multiple fission, fragmentation, or budding; meiosis does not occur
PROTISTA PROTISTA Green, golden, red, and brown unicellular algae large, single eukaryotic cell (nucleus is enclosed by a membrane) protozoans and algae of various types

asexually with binary fission

sexually --, two individuals join and exchange genetic material in the nucleus

FUNGI FUNGI multicellular,with a cell wall, organelles including a nucleus, but no chloroplasts. They have no mechanisms for locomotion. Fungi range in size from microscopic to very large ( such as mushrooms). Nutrients are acquired by absorption, for the most part, from decaying material. funguses, molds, mushrooms, yeasts, mildews, and smuts sexual and asexual
PLANTAE PLANTAE multicellular form with specialized eukaryotic cells; do not have their own means of locomotion seaweeds and kelp, mosses, liverworts, spores plants (club mosses & ferns), gymnosperms, and flowering plants

Sexual reproduction involves the male pollen grains traveling to the stigma of a flower

Asexual reproduction involves the production of a new plant without the use of flowers.


ANIMALIA ANIMALIA multicellular form with specialized eukaryotic cells; have their own means of locomotion sponges, coelenterates, flatworms, roundworms, mollusks, annelids, arthropods, echinoderms and chordates, Humans, Elephants, Ants, Bees, Naked Mole rats sexual reproduction through fertilization

Questions or Comments?
Copyright © 1999 EdInformatics.com
All Rights Reserved.