Home Page   

GED State Testing Page

GED State Tests

The GED Testing program was developed by the American Council on Education to provide persons who have not graduated from high school the opportunity to earn the High School Equivalency Certificate.General Educational Development (or GED) tests are a group of five subject tests which, when passed, certify that the taker has American or Canadian high school-level academic skills.

To pass the GED Tests and earn a GED credential, test takers must score higher than 60 percent of graduating high school seniors nationwide. Some jurisdictions require that students pass additional tests such as an English proficiency exam or civics test. The American Council on Education is the sole developer for the GED test. One in every seven Americans with high school credentials received the GED, as well as one in 20 college students. Seventy percent of GED recipients complete at least the 10th grade before leaving school, and the same number are over the age of 19, with the average age being 24.In addition to English, the GED tests are available in Spanish, French, large print, audiocassette, and braille. read more about the GED Test

GED information by State

Find local GED testing Centers, Learn and practice test questions, GED requirements

PLEASE BE ADVISED: The only way to officially pass the GED is to take it at a State-approved testing center. The official GED test is not offered online and no such online tests are considered official scores.

Alabama Indiana Nebraska South Carolina
Alaska Iowa Nevada South Dakota
Arizona Kansas New Hampshire Tennessee
Arkansas Kentucky New Jersey Texas
California Louisiana New Mexico Utah
Colorado Maine New York Vermont
Connecticut Maryland North Carolina Virginia
Delaware Massachusetts North Dakota Washington
Florida Michigan Ohio West Virginia
Georgia Minnesota Oklahoma Wisconsin
Hawaii Mississippi Oregon Wyoming
Idaho Missouri Pennsylvania  
Illinois Montana Rhode Island