Home Page    _ ________________ ____EDinformatics Home
Today is
Great Minds --Great Thinkers --> More Great Thinkers

Max Planck

Max Karl Ernst Ludwig Planck (1858 - 1947) was a German physicist who is considered to be the inventor of quantum theory.

Born on April 23, 1858 in Kiel, Planck started his physics studies at Munich University in 1874, graduating in 1879 in Berlin. He returned to München in 1880 to teach at the university, and moved to Kiel in 1885. There he married Marie Merck in 1886. In 1889, he moved to Berlin, where from 1892 on he held the chair of theoretical physics.


In 1899, he discovered a new fundamental constant, which is named Planck's constant, and is, for example, used to calculate the energy of a photon. Also that year, he described his own set of units of measurement based on fundamental physical constants. One year later, he discovered the law of heat radiation, which is named Planck's Law of Radiation. This law became the basis of quantum theory, which emerged ten years later in cooperation with Albert Einstein and Niels Bohr.

From 1905 to 1909, Planck acted as the head of the Deutsche Physikalische Gesellschaft (German Physical Society). His wife died in 1909, and one year later he married Marga von Hoesslin. In 1913, he became head of Berlin University. For the foundation of quantum physics, he was awarded the 1918 Nobel Prize in Physics. From 1930 to 1937, Planck was head of the Kaiser-Wilhelm-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften (KWG, Emperor-Wilhelm-Society for the advancement of science).

During World War II, Planck tried to convince Hitler to spare Jewish scientists. Planck's son Erwin was executed on July 20, 1944, for treason in connection with an attempted assassination of Hitler. After Max Planck's death on October 4, 1947 in Göttingen, the KWG was renamed as the Max-Planck-Gesellschaft zur Förderung der Wissenschaften (MPG).

External links and references

More Great Thinkers and Great Minds
Marie Curie
Pablo Picasso
Edwin Hubble
Jean Piaget
Robert Boyle
Rene Descartes
Miguel de Cervantes
Friedrich Nietzsche
Michelangelo Buonarroti
Gary Kasparov
Galileo Galilei
Dmitri Mendeleev
Albert Einstein
Isaac Newton
Leonhard Euler
Enrico Fermi
Joseph Louis Lagrange
Carl Friedrich Gauss
Bernhardt Riemann
Kurt Gödel
William Shakespeare
Betrand Russell
Charles Darwin
Fyodor Dostoevsky
Leo Tolstoy
Niels Bohr
Linus Pauling
Leonardo Da Vinci
Blaise Pascal
Michael Faraday
James Clerk Maxwell
Alan Turing
Sigmund Freud
Gottfried Leibniz
Max Planck
Aleksandr Pushkin
Ivan Pavlov
Pierre de Fermat








Home Page

Questions or Comments?
Copyright © 1999 EdInformatics.com
All Rights Reserved.